East Africa: EAC Leaders to Debate Somalia's Bid to Join the Bloc

Members of the East African Community (EAC) Heads of State are set to discuss the progress report on the verification exercise for Somalia's application to join the block.

The 21st ordinary Summit of the East African Community Heads of State is set to take place virtually on Saturday consideration of Somalia's request to join the six-member bloc high on agenda.

The leaders will also discuss the consideration of DR Congo to join the bloc.

In 2016 Somalia first applied to join the regional interrogation but was not given green light due to unrevealed reasons.

Somalia protested and reapplied again in 2018.

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of 6 Partner States: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.