Nigerian Senate Confirms Nomination of New Service Chiefs

Nigerian Senate

Abuja — The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday confirmed the nomination of new service chiefs.

The new service chiefs, Major General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; Awwal Gambo and Air Vice Marshall Oladayo Alao, Chief Air Staff replaced former service chiefs who were last week confirmed as non-career by the Senate.

Their confirmation followed the report of the Committee on Defense.

While presenting the report, Chairman of the Committee Senator Aliu Wamako told the Senate that the nominees were thoroughly screened and did not receive any petition against them during the screening process.

It should be recalled that President Buhari had last month wrote to the Senate to confirm the nomination nomination of new service chiefs after the resignation of former service chiefs.

In his remark, Senate President Ahmed Lawan congratulated the new service chiefs and charged them to take the war to terrorists and bandits in their enclaves.

He reminded them to be conscious of the fact that Nigerians expected nothing less from them, just as he recounted how the Senate and indeed, the President Buhari was pressurised to replace their predecessors.

More From: Leadership

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.