Uganda: Afrobasket Qualifiers - FIBA Sets Date for Uganda's Postponed Games

Uganda's Afro-basketball qualifiers which were postponed by FIBA due to health-related reasons will now be played between June 15 and July 15 at a venue yet to be determined.

Matches involving Silverbacks were postponed after it was reported that Uganda's camp had several positive tests for Covid-19.

The five members of the Uganda delegation tested positive to Covid-19 after arriving in Monastir, despite delegation members having provided earlier negative tests.

According to a statement released by FIBA, following the postponement of Uganda's games in application of the Covid-19 Protocol for FIBA Official National Team and the advice of its Medical Commission, the pending Group E will be played between June 15 and July 15, 2021 at a venue to be decided.

The Silverbacks, currently at the bottom of Group E, are due to play Egypt, Morocco, and Cape Verde.

Meanwhile, a decision has also been made on the game involving Cameroon and Equatorial Guinea that was also not played due to late arrival of the latter in Yaoundé.

Following the non-appearance of Equatorial Guinea in their game against Cameroon on February 19, 2021 due to the late arrival of the delegation of Equatorial Guinea in Yaounde, the game was forfeited in favor of Cameroon.

The decision is based upon the unjustified late arrival of the Equatorial Guinea delegation in Yaounde, the related inobservance of the relevant provisions of the FIBA Covid-19 Protocol and the FIBA AfroBasket 2021 Qualifiers Handbook that lead to the failure to appear at the game at the scheduled time and place.

Following the games, 13 teams have already secured tickets for the Africa Cup of Nations "FIBA Afrobasket Rwanda 2021" to be held in Rwanda from August 24 to September 05, 2021.

The teams, including Rwanda, who are hosts, took part in the qualifiers. The national side was in Group D with Nigeria, South Sudan and Mali.

Other teams that have secured tickets are Senegal, Angola, Kenya, Cote d'Ivoire, Cameroon, Tunisia, Egypt, the Central African Republic and the DRC.

More From: New Times

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.