Kenya: By-Elections - Voting Underway in Seven Electoral Areas

Voting started in seven electoral areas across the county on Thursday in by-elections that will determine the next local leaders.

Residents of Matungu and Kabuchai constituencies in Kakamega and Bungoma counties respectively are casting their vote for the next Member of Parliament.

Locals in London (Nakuru), Hell's Gate (Nakuru), Kiamokama (Kisii), Huruma (Uasin Gishu) and Kitise/Kithuki (Makueni) are electing ward representatives.

Polls were open at 6am and will close at 5pm.

More follows.

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.