South Africa: Appointment of Members of Parliament to Serve On Section 194 Enquiry Committee


To download soundbite by Parliament Spokesperson Moloto Mothapo, click the link:

Parliament, Wednesday 7 April 2021 - National Assembly (NA) Speaker Ms Thandi Modise has received the names of NA Members of Parliament who will constitute the Section 194 Committee, which will enquire into whether or not there are grounds for the removal from office of Public Protector Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane.

The Committee's 26 members come from each of the 14 political parties represented in the NA. 11 will be voting members of the committee and another 15 will be non-voting members. Parties had until 31 March to submit names and these names have been published in the Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports official publication of Parliament, dated 7 April 2021.


African National Congress

Dlakude, Ms Doris Eunice

Dyantyi, Mr Qubudile Richard

Joemat-Pettersson, Ms Tina Monica

Gungubele, Mr Mondli

Hermans, Ms Judy

Nkosi, Mr Bekizwe Simon

Mapulane, Mr Mohlopi Phillemon (Alternate)

Mgweba, Ms Teiliswa (Alternate)

Democratic Alliance

Lotriet, Dr Annelie

Schreiber, Dr Leon Amos

Economic Freedom Fighters

Malema, Mr Julius Sello

Inkatha Freedom Party

Majozi, Ms Zandile

Freedom Front Plus

Mulder, Dr Cornelius Petrus


African National Congress

Tolashe, Ms Nokuzola Gladys

Nqola, Mr Xola

Democratic Alliance

Nodada, Mr Baxolile Babongile

Economic Freedom Fighters

Maotwe, Ms Omphile Mankoba Confidence

Inkatha Freedom Party

Msimang, Prof Christian Themba

Freedom Front Plus

Denner, Ms Heloise

African Christian Democratic Party

Sukers, Ms Marie Elizabeth

United Democratic Movement

Holomisa, Mr Bantubonke Harrington

African Transformation Movement

Marawu, Ms Thandiswa Linnen


August, Mr Shaun

National Freedom Party

Shaik-Emam, Mr Ahmed Munzoor

African Independent Congress

Ntshayisa, Mr Lulama Maxwell

Congress of the People

Madisha, Mr William Mothipa

Pan Africanist Congress

Nyhontso, Mr Mzwanele

Al Jama-ah

Hendricks, Mr Mogamad Ganief Ebrahim

The NA voted in favour of establishing the committee at its sitting on 16 March, after adopting the report of an Independent Panel of experts which recommended that such a committee be established.

The NA Rules require the Section 194 Committee to conduct the inquiry, to establish whether the charges are sustainable and to report to the NA.

The Committee's report must contain findings, recommendations and reasons and must be scheduled for consideration and debate with appropriate urgency.

The Committee, which must conclude its business within reasonable time frame, must elect its Chairperson at its first meeting.

Top Headlines: South Africa

More From: Parliament of South Africa

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.