Nigeria: INEC Creates 1,756 New Polling Units in Nasarawa

29 April 2021

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has created 1,756 additional polling units in Nasarawa State.

INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Dr. Uthman Ajidagba, gave the hint during a visit to some of the newly established polling units in Karu local government area of the state.

According to Ajidagba, Karu local government area was selected for the commencement of the process of creating new polling units due to the high population in the area and its proximity to the Federal Capital Territory.

He stated that INEC had been holding series of consultations and engagements with stakeholders in the electoral process and leaders of political parties to ensure success in the exercise.

Chairman, Association of Local Governments in Nigeria (ALGON), Nasarawa State Chapter, Alhaji Aminu Maifata, said the creation of additional polling units would go a long way to adding value to the electoral process.

The creation of additional polling units by INEC brings to 3,256 the total number polling units in Nasarawa State.

More From: Leadership

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.