South Africa/Egypt: Notoane Names 25-Man Squad to Face Egypt in Two Friendly Matches.

South Africa U23 Men's Olympic team coach David Notoane has named a 25-member squad to play their Egyptian U23 Men's Olympic counterparts in two friendly matches on 10 and 13 June 2021 in Cairo.

The Egypt camp was secured following the cancellation of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) tournament that was scheduled to take place from 5-11 June 2021 but called off due to Covid-19 complications.

Despite the cancellation of the UAE tournament, Notoane expressed his excitement at securing the two games against Egypt as the Tokyo Olympics Games edge closer.

"We are disappointed with the cancellation of the UAE tournament because it was an exciting prospect but I am happy that we got to secure two games against our North African brothers Egypt," said Notoane.

"We made some changes to the squad that was going to the UAE because with the Premier Soccer League only completing on Saturday, 5 June 2021 we will have all the selected players available," noted Notoane.

Notoane is expected to announce his final squad for the Tokyo Olympics later this month.



1. Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic FC)

2. Lincoln Vyver (Cape Town Spurs FC)

3. Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows FC)


4. Tercious Malepe (FC Minaj,Ukraine)

5. Katlego Mohamme (University of Pretoria FC)

6. Thendo Mukumela (Cape Town Spurs FC)

7. Luke Fleurs (SupersSport United)

8. Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates FC)

9. Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City FC)

10. Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy FC)

11. Reeve Frosler (Kaizer Chiefs FC)


12. Luke Le Roux (Varbergs BoIS FC, Sweden)

13. Thabo Cele (Cova da Piedade (Portugal)

14. Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)

15. Athenkosi Dlala (University of Pretoria FC)

16. Grant Margeman (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

17. Kobamelo Kodisang (Sporting Braga FC,Portugal)

18. Nkosingiphile Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

19. Rowan Human (Beitar Tel Aviv Bat Yam FC,Israel)

20. Kamohelo Mahlatsi (Swallows FC)


21. Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City)

22. Luther Singh (FC Pacos de Ferreira,Portugal)

23. Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

24. Lyle Foster (Vitoria Guimares FC,Portugal)

25. Liam Jordan (FC Helsingor,Denmark)

More From: SAFA

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.