Nigeria: Ogun Assembly Passes 37, Akwa Ibom 19 Bills in 2 Years

The Ogun State House of Assembly has passed 37 bills into law in the last two years, Daily Trust has gathered.

The ninth assembly led by the Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo, which was inaugurated on June 10, 2019, also has over 20 others being examined at various committee stages.

Daily Trust reports that members of the legislature, elected from different political parties, formed a one-party legislature under the All Progressives Congress (APC) during the inauguration.

At the inception, the ruling APC had 15 members, Allied People's Movement (APM) had seven seats, African Democratic Congress (ADC) three while PDP had one.

Following a recent gale of defections in the state, all the lawmakers elected on the platforms of the opposition parties defected to APC, making the legislature solely controlled by the party.

Similarly, the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly said it has passed 19 of 52 bills sponsored in two years.

Chairman of the House Committee on Information Aniefiok Akpan stated this yesterday while giving a summary of the achievements of the assembly on Monday in Uyo.

More From: Daily Trust

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.