Namibia: Geingob Nominates Three ECN Commissioners

PRESIDENT Hage Geingob has asked the National Assembly (NA) to approve the nomination of three people as commissioners of the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN).

The nominated are Elsie Nghikembua, who currently serves as ECN commissioner, Emmerentia Leonard, who has served on the Namibia Press Agency's board, and Joram Rukambe, who is the current senior electoral adviser of the United Nations Development Programme in Zambia.

Deputy speaker Loide Kasingo submitted Geingob's nominations to the NA during an urgent sitting on Tuesday.

Parliamentarians will have the opportunity to comment on these nominations when the urgent sitting, which has also been asked to consider Geingob's recommendation to reappoint Paulus Noa as the director general for the Anti-Corruption Commission, continues on Wednesday.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.