Nigeria: Akwa Utd Wins First NPFL Title

2 August 2021

Akwa United defeated MFM FC 5-2 yesterday in Uyo to win the 2020/21 Nigeria Professional Football League title for the first time.

The Promise Keepers needed just a draw to clinch the title but went extra mile to snatch all three points at home.

Charles Atshimene headed the Promise Keepers in front from close range in the 24th minute before Alimi Adebayo double the lead late in the first half when he diverted Mfon Udoh's cross into his own net.

Udoh netted the third goal for Akwa United two minutes after the hour mark.

The visitors pulled a goal from the spot in the 68th minute through Michael Mbonu after Dennis Obasi was fouled inside the box.

Atshimene got his second and Akwa United's fourth of the game five minutes from time.

Obasi reduced the deficit for MFM two minutes from time.

Atshimene netted his third of the game on the dot of 90 minutes to make it 5-2 to the home team.

Kennedy Boboye's side top the standings with 71 points from 37 matches.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.