Angola: Sagrada Esperança Win Girabola 16 Years Later

Luanda — Lunda Norte's Sagrada Esperança team became Girabola champions on Saturday after beating Petro de Luanda, 1-0, at the 11 de Novembro Stadium.

Luís Taty, in the 21st minute, was the scorer of the lone goal that returned the national title to the diamond team, with 70 points, 16 years after the first consecration, in 2005.

Technically balanced, the match between the championship leaders at the time was marked by not so good acts, alien to football celebration, when, after a penalty kick in favour of Petro, the diamond team protested to the point of leaving the pitch, while their supporters threw chairs onto the field.

The disorder caused the match to be paralysed for 20 minutes, as well as the intervention, in the stands, of the forces of order.

In the VIP stand, the chairperson of the general assembly of Sagrada Esperança and governor of Lunda Norte, Ernesto Muangala, was kind enough to go to the dressing room to persuade the group to return to the game, and shortly after the match resumed.

At 55' the situation returned to normality, the Lundas gave face to the fight and against the expectations of the Petroleum team, striker Tiago Azulão missed the penalty kick, that is, allowed the saving of goalkeeper Langanga, who this season proved to be a "lord of the goal post".

Before that, Sagrada came close to increasing the lead, when Lepua scored, in the 29th minute, but referee António Dungula annulled it, as instructed by his assistant Gerson Emiliano, who considered there was an irregularity in the shot.

In response, Petro almost got the equalizer. Picas rode a few meters, passing through two opponents, and lack of balance the ball fell to the captain Job, but he did not know how to make the best of it, shooting over the goalpost.

The first half was played until the 66th minute.

The second half was calmer, as the teams tried to contain their spirits and concentrate only on the "fight" for a title that they had not seen for a long time.

Sagrada had 70 points, three more than Petro in second position. 1º de Agosto was third with 64, while Baixa de Cassange of Malanje (32 pts), Santa Rita de Cássia of Uíge (29) and Ferrovia of Huambo with one point were relegated from the championship.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 110 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.