Cape Verde: Seven to Compete for Presidency on October 17

(file photo).
25 August 2021

Cape Verde's Constitutional Court has approved seven candidates for the October 17 presidential election, it said in a statement.

Mr Péricles Tavares was the only candidate rejected due to some irregularities, the court added.

This is the first time that Cape Verde has seven official candidates for the country's top job since independence from Portugal in 1975.

The candidates include José Maria Pereira Neves, Carlos Alberto Wahnon de Carvalho Veiga, Fernando Rocha Delgado, Gilson João dos Santos Alves, Hélio de Jesus Pina Sanches, Joaquim Jaime Monteiro and Casimiro Jesus Lopes de Pina.

Mr Neves is running on a PAICV ticket while Mr Veiga is supported by the ruling Movement for Democracy (MpD). They both served as the country's prime ministers.

Incumbent Jorge Carlos Fonseca, 70, who has ruled the country since 2011, served the maximum two terms and cannot run in the October 17 polls.

Electoral campaigns will take place from September 30 to October 15. In the event of a presidential run-off, this will be scheduled for October 31.

Cape Verde has had four Presidents since independence: the late Aristides Pereira (1975-1991), the late António Mascarenhas Monteiro (1991-2001), the first by direct election, Pedro Pires (2001-2011) and Jorge Carlos Fonseca (2011 to present).

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.