Africa: Cameroon Win Africa Women Volleyball Championship

Volleyball net (file photo).
20 September 2021

Defending champions Cameroon were, Sunday, September 19 crowned the winners of the 2021 CAVB African Women's Volleyball Champions after a 3-1 victory over Kenya at Kigali Arena.

Cameroon beat the East Africans 3 sets to 1 (25-21, 25-23, 15-25 and 25-23) to successfully defend the title that they had won in 2019.

Meanwhile, Morocco beat Nigeria in straight sets to take bronze at the 2021 edition of the championships.

Courtesy of their reaching the finals, Cameroon and Kenya have booked a ticket to the 2022 FIVB volleyball women's championship as the CAVB representatives.

The hosts Rwanda were disqualified from the 2021 Women's Volleyball African Nations Championship as the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) continues to investigate the allegations that they fielded ineligible players.

The most valuable player of the 2021 tournament was Christelle Tchoudjang Nana from Cameroon.

The best five players

Best Server: Moma Bassoko from Cameroon

Best Blocker: Gladys Ekaru Emaniman from Kenya

Best Setter: Alexandra Erhart from Morocco

Best Attacker: Sharon Chepchumba Kiprono from Kenya

Best Libero: Yousra Souidi from Morocco

Ranking by country

1. Cameroon

2. Kenya

3. Morocco

4. Nigeria

5. Tunisia

6. DR Congo

7. Burundi

8. Senegal

9. Rwanda

Final Cameroon 3-1 Kenya

Third-place Morocco 3-0 Nigeria


AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.