Southern Africa: Covid-19 'Omicron' - Sudan Imposes Travel Ban From Southern Africa

Khartoum International Airport in 2010.

Khartoum — The health authorities in Sudan have issued a decision banning entry to travellers arriving from six Southern African countries, due to the outbreak of the new 'Omicron' mutation of COVID-19 that was identified in South Africa.

Sudanese authorities say that one case of infection with the new mutation has been reported by Khartoum International Airport, regarding a passenger from South Africa.

The ban, effective from tomorrow until February 27 next year, includes arrivals from South African countries Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, and Lesotho. The decision stipulates that entry to Sudan will not be allowed for people who have been in or passed through those countries over the past 14 days.

Sudan's echoes similar bans adopted this week by the European Union, UK, and USA.

AllAfrica publishes around 500 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.