Angola: Football - Petro De Luanda Win Top Division Championship

Luanda — Petro de Luanda won the national first division football championship on Wednesday, after defeating Sagrada Esperança da Luanda Norte by 3-1, in the 26th round played at Luanda 's 11 de Novembro Stadium.

With goals scored by Kinito at minute 35, Tiago Azulão at 59', and Maya at 87' Petro de Luanda, ended a 12-year "fast" period, that is, without winning the top division championship, also dubbed Girabola.

This is Petro's 16th trophy, after the last conquest in 2009.

The opponent team's consolation goal happened at 90+3 minutes, Petro defender committed a foul in the area, which the referee sanctioned with a penalty kick, which was well finalized by Jô Paciência.

The game was played at 11 de Novembro Stadium, in Luanda.

Check the top five teams of the competition:

1-Petro de Luanda 68pts

2 -Sagrada Esperança 59pts

3-1º de Agosto 55pts

4-Interclube 46pts

5-Bravos do Maquis 44pts

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.