6 Kenyan Women Make History as First Elected Governors, Senators

Joyce Laboso, Anne Waiguru, Charity Ngilu, Margaret Kamar, Dullo Fatuma Adan and Susan Kihika have been elected to key seats won exclusively by men in past elections. All the women senators who sat in the 2013-2017 Senate came via the 47 nominated seats set aside for women because no woman candidate won election in 2013.

From left: Ms Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Margaret Kamar (Uasin Gishu), and Isiolo’s Fatuma Dullo.

See What Everyone is Watching