U.S. Warns Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania on Used Clothes Imports Ban

The United States has warned East African Community leaders that their plan to ban the import of used clothes by 2019 violates the African Growth and Opportunity Act. In March 2016, the EAC - which comprises Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and South Sudan - agreed to ban  the import of second-hand clothes to enhance the local manufacturing sector.

Jessica Kiyingi, a vendor at Kampala’s Owino market, selling second-hand clothes.


See What Everyone is Watching