Seven Countries Ban Processed Meat From South Africa

Namibia, Botswana, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi and Kenya have banned the import of processed meats from South Africa in order to protect their citizens from the disease that has thus far claimed 180 lives. Scientists at South Africa's National Institute for Communicable Diseases had announced that they finally found the source of the country's listeria outbreak and three factories are now under investigation.

A gatsby is a South African sandwich sold as a foot-long sandwich sliced into two, four or eight pieces. Polony is one of the key ingredients in a gatsby, but it can also contain viennas, steak, fish or chicken.

Photo: Glane23


A tomato and polony sandwich.


See What Everyone is Watching

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.