The Fall of Kenya's Election Body

The resignation of Connie Nkatha, Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya - after another commissioner Roselyne Akombe quit 10 days to the October 26 repeat presidential election in 2017 - means the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Chairperson has only three commissioners, chairman Wafula Chebukati, Abdi Guliye, and Boya Molu. The commission, which has been at odds since the lead up to the August 8, 2017 elections, had become dysfunctional due to external interference, the commissioners said in a statement.

Photo: Capital FM

Vice-Chairperson Consolata Nkatha, Commissioners Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya announcing their exit from IEBC.


See What Everyone is Watching