Blow to Govt As Chinese Bank Places Zimbabwe on Sanctions List

A Chinese government-owned financial institution, China Everbright Bank, has placed Zimbabwe on a list of countries it will not be doing business with - a move that could place a damper on diplomatic relations between the two countries. Along with Zimbabwe, 10 other African countries are on the blacklist and these include Sudan, South Sudan, DR Congo, Burundi, Liberia, Central Africa Republic, Libya, Somalia and Côte d'Ivoire.

Zimbabwe's Emmerson Mnangagwa and Chinese President Xi Jinping (file photo).


AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.