Sudan, South Sudan Agree to Reopen Borders

The leaders of South Sudan and Sudan have agreed to reopen border areas between their countries in a bid to boost trade and the free movement of people. The agreement between new Sudanese Prime Minister Abdalla Hamdok and South Sudan's President Salva Kiir, is significant because several border areas remain closed, including Heglig in South Sudan's former Unity State, Kafiakinji in Raja in South Sudan, and El-Khurasana in Sudan's Western Kordofan state.

President Salva Kirr and rebel leader Riek Machar


Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.