City of Tshwane Placed Under Administration in South Africa

Economic Freedom Fighters leader Julius Malema has welcomed a move by the Gauteng government to dissolve the City of Tshwane and put it under administration. This comes after Gauteng Premier David Makhura announced that the municipality, which has failed to elect a new mayor or pass budget, would now be placed under administration as per section 139 1(c) of the Constitution.

The administrative capital of South Africa, Pretoria. The city falls under the metropolitan municipality of Tswhane.

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.