Trump Toughens Visa Rules For Students From Africa, War Zones

U.S. President Donald Trump's administration is planning to bar Kenyan students from pursuing degrees in the U.S. by limiting their stay in the country. The move which is contained in proposals by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security will see student visas only remain valid for two years. This means that students will not be able to further their education in American universities where degrees and other certificate courses take about four years of study. Other than Kenya, students from countries such as Afghanistan, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, DRC Congo, Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Guinea-Bissau and Guyana are also affected.


(file photo).

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.