Cautious Optimism as Kenya President Eases Covid-19 Restrictions

President Uhuru Kenyatta has lifted an order on cessation of movement into and out of the five counties of Nairobi, Nakuru, Kiambu, Kajiado, and Machakos imposed on March 26, 2021. In his speech during Labour Day celebrations, he also extended the start of curfew period to 10pm. Curfew hours in the five counties had been revised to commence at 8pm when the lockdown was imposed in March 2021. Kenyatta has said the decision was reached after data from medical experts suggested that after a month-long lockdown, the Covid-19 caseload within the zoned area had come down by 72%. Panic over possible spread of the virulent strain found in India has gripped Kisumu County since the release of information about five patients of Indian origin who had traveled to India between March 11 and April 10.


Police vehicles on standby at Thika Superhighway's Exit 7 as police officers await to block curfew violators in Nairobi on April 19, 2021.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.