DR Congo President Declares State of Siege in Two Provinces

Democratic Republic of Congo President Félix Tshisekedi has replaced all the civilian authorities in the provinces of North Kivu (some 1,600km east of Kinshasa) and Ituri (1,800km from Kinshasa) with military and police, the East African reports. The decision means that all civilian administrations, including governors and their deputies, in that part of the country will hand over their duties to security agencies under what is known as a 'state of siege', different from a state of emergency in that it has less restrictions.


Deutsche Welle reports that dozens of armed groups have operated in the two provinces for years, and civilians have been subjected to horrifying massacres. Armed militias and inter-communal violence have killed more than 300 people so far in 2021. It is the first time since the DRC's independence that a president has used the "state of siege". RFI reports that under DRC's constitution, the president can declare either a state of emergency or a state of siege "if severe circumstances immediately threaten the independence or integrity of the national territory, or if they interrupt the regular functioning of institutions".


Special intervention brigade forces from Tanzania, part of the UN peacekeeping mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUSCO), on duty in Sake, North Kivu (July 2013).

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.