South Sudan President Announces New Parliament

President Salva Kiir has reconstituted the National Legislative Assembly, a day after he dissolved the 400-member parliament in accordance with the revitalised peace agreement. According to the peace deal, both R-TNLA and Council of States will be reconstituted to include new appointees from other peace parties. The new parliament must now accommodate 550 members, including additional lawmakers from the former warring parties of the Sudan People's Liberation Movement-In Government (SPLM-IG), the SPLM-In Opposition (SPLM-IO), the South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA), Other Opposition Parties (OPP), and former detainees. Analysts have said the lack of a functioning legislature over the past several months has made it nearly impossible for lawmakers to pass laws, or approve sweeping reforms stipulated in the revitalised peace agreement.


John Garang Mausoleum Square in Juba (file photo).

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.