U.S.-Sanctioned Liberian Govt Officials Resign

President George Weah has accepted the resignation of Nathaniel McGill, Syrennius Cephus and Bill Twehway who resigned from their respective positions on Monday September 12, 2022. They were all sanctioned by the U.S. Treasury nearly a month ago. Local radio stations are also reporting that the third sanctioned official, Saymah Syrenius Cephus, also resigned.

The trio were suspended by President George Weah, 24 hours after they were designated. There were however, mounting calls from political activists and civil society organisations calling for the dismissal and prosecution of the designated officials.

The report on the trio said: "Nathaniel McGill used his position to undermine the integrity and independence of Liberia's democratic institutions and subvert government priorities for personal gain. Sayma Cephus developed close relationships with suspects of criminal investigations and received bribes from individuals in exchange for arranging for their cases to be dropped. Bill Twehway used his position at the National Port Authority to corruptly advance his own personal wealth and political agenda."


(file photo).

AllAfrica publishes around 500 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.