Africa: Morocco, South Africa Win 2015, 2017 Soccer Events

Egypt players celebrate winning during the 2010 Africa Cup of Nations final match.
29 January 2011

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced Saturday that Morocco will host the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations tournament, and South Africa the 2017 tournament.

In a statement, CAF said its executive committee chose the venues after both countries made presentations at a meeting in Lubumbashi in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Morocco last hosted Afcon in 1988 and South Africa was the host in 1996.Gabon and Equatorial Guinea will jointly host the 2012 Afcon tournament.

CAF also announced that Rwanda will host the African Nations Championship (CHAN) in 2016, and Morocco the 2013 CAF U-17 Championship.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: allAfrica

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.