New President Emerges At the Ecowas Court of Justice

19 June 2014
press release

Accra, Ghana — Hon. Justice Maria Do Ceu Monteiro Silva (Guinea Bissau) has been elected as the new President of the Community Court of Justice, ECOWAS. While Hon.

Justice Friday Chijoke Nwoke (Nigeria), and Hon. Justice Jerome Traore (Burkina Faso) were elected as Vice-‐President, and Dean of the Court respectively. The new Bureau comprising the three afore-‐mentioned Members of the Court will serve in that capacity for the next two years. The other Members of the Court are Hon. Justice Yaya Boiro (Guinea), Hon. Justice Micah Wilkins Wright (Liberia), Hon. Justice Hameye Foune Mahalmadane (Mali), and Hon.

Justice Alioune Sall of Senegal

The election was preceded by the swearing-‐in of the seven newly appointed Judges of the Community Court of Justice, ECOWAS on Wednesday 18th of June 2014 by the Chairman of Authority of Heads of State and Government of the ECOWAS and President of the Republic of Ghana, His Excellency John Dramani Mahama in Accra, Ghana.

Speaking at the occasion, His Excellency John Mahama welcomed the incoming Judges and congratulated them on their appointment. While pledging the support of the Authority to the Court, he urged the incoming Judges to work with assiduity to promote justice, peace and security in the region. He also urged them to collaborate with national courts.

The President of the ECOWAS Commission, His Excellency Kadré Désiré Ouédraogo during his address, recalled the legal basis for the ceremony. He stated that the ceremony was held in adherence to the provisions of Article 5 of Protocol A/P1/7/91 of 6 July 1991 which prescribes that, prior to assuming office, Members of the Court are expected to swear an oath of office or make a solemn declaration before the Chairman of the Authority.

In the same vein, the Chairman of the Judicial Council, Justice Mamadou Koné, who chaired the recruitment process of the newly appointed Judges, stated that the selection of the new Judges was objective and rigorous. He commended the outgoing Judges for their contribution to the Community and reminded the incoming Judges of the enormous task ahead. He added that being Community Judges, they no longer represent their respective countries but the entire Community.

The outgoing President of the Court, Hon. Justice Awa Nana Daboya speaking on behalf of the six retiring Judges, expressed deep appreciation to the Heads of State and Government for the opportunity given them to serve the Community.

As duly constituted, the new composition of the Court is as follows: Hon. Justice Maria Do Ceu Monteiro Silva (Guinea Bissau), President; Hon. Justice Friday Chijioke Nwoke (Nigeria), Vice President; Hon. Justice Jerome Traoré (Burkina Faso), Dean of the Court; Hon. Justice Yaya Boiro (Guinea), Member; Hon. Justice Micah Wilkins Wright (Liberia), Member; Hon. Justice Hameye Foune Mahalmadane (Mali), Member; and Hon. Justice Alioune Sall of Senegal, Member.

The seven newly appointed Judges are to serve for a period of four years. They replace the following six outgoing Judges: Hon. Justice Awa Nana Daboya (Togo); Hon. Justice Benfeito Mosso Ramos (Cape Verde); Hon. Justice Hansine N. Donli (Nigeria); Hon. Justice Anthony Alfred Benin (Ghana); Hon. Justice Clotilde Nougbode Medegan (Benin); and Hon. Justice Eliam Monsedjoueni Potey (Cote D'Ivoire). It is worthy of note that the Court lost one of its Judges, Late Hon.

Justice Sidibe Dirarou Soumana from the Republic of Niger who passed away in 2011. The Court is made up of seven Judges drawn from Member States of the ECOWAS.

For further information, visit the Community Court of Justice, ECOWAS website at or contact the Information Officers using the contact details below:

Felicien Hounkanrin (Information Officer) Cell Phone: 234-‐803-‐786-‐ 3972 Email:,

Elohor Ovadje (Information Officer) Cell Phone: 234-‐803-‐335-‐ 4281, 234-‐818-‐448-‐ 2456 Email:,

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.