Daily Trust Invites Nominations for African Of The Year 2016 Award

Photo: Daily Trust
Daily Trust African of the Year Award
12 July 2016
Content from our Premium Partner
Daily Trust (Abuja)

A leading independent newspaper in Nigeria, DAILY TRUST, has called for nomination of exemplary personalities for the coveted "African of the Year" 2016 award.

In a statement at the weekend, Associate Director of DAILY TRUST, Aliu Akoshile said ideal nominees should be ordinary Africans who have made extra-ordinary positive contributions to humanity in any part of the continent.

Mr. Akoshile disclosed that the award consists of three components, namely, a permanent plaque, a certificate of merit and a cash reward in aid of the awardee's charity project.

He said a valid entry is for works, events or activities undertaken by the nominee between October 1, 2015 and September 30, 2016 adding that  nominations are to be made online at   award.dailytrust.com.ng

Mr. Akoshile said the eventual winner will be selected by a seven-member prize committee chaired by Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim, former Prime Minister of Tanzania and ex-scribe of the Organization of African Unity (now African Union).

Other members of the Committee who represent Africa's regional blocs are: Ambassador Mona Omar (North Africa), Mr. Amadou Mahtar Ba (West Africa), Ms. Gwen Lister (Southern Africa), Mr. Pascal Kambale (Central Africa) and Professor Sylvia Tamale (East Africa). The Chairman of the Board of DAILY TRUST, Mr. Kabiru Yusuf represents the award promoters.

Now in its 8th edition, the African of the Year award was inaugurated in 2008 by DAILY TRUST in fulfillment of the newspaper's commitment to African unity and sustainable development across the continent.

With this annual award, Mr. Akoshile said the newspapers hopes to entrench the culture of selflessness among Africans with the aim of creating a pool of role-models for others to emulate.

The maiden award was presented to a Congolese gynecologist, Dr. Denis Mukwege, in recognition of his exemplary humanitarian offer of free reconstructive surgery to victims of rape in the war-torn Democratic Republic of Congo, DRC.

The subsequent awards have been won by the late Dr. Tajudeen Abdulraheem (2009), Mr. Danny Jordan (2010), Judge Mrs. Fatimata Bazeye (2011), Mr. Thabo Mbeki (2012) and Dr. Donald Kaberuka (2013). The 2014 award was skipped owing to the prevalence of Ebola disease in parts of Africa while Mr. Gregoire Ahongbonon emerged winner of the 2015 award.

Some of the distinguished personalities who had served on the Prize Committee chaired by Dr. Salim are: Prof. Abdoulaye Bathily, Prof. Tandeka Nkiwane, Ms. Muthoni Wanyeki, Prof. Okello Oculi, Dr. Obadiah Mailafia, Prof. Kwame Karikari, and the late Dr. Tajudeen Abdulraheem.

Issued by:

Aliu Akoshile, Associate Director, Business, DAILY TRUST.

Email: aliuakoshile@dailytrust.com

Mobile: +234 805 910 0210

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.