Babacar Ndiaye Trophy presented in Busan by Akinwumi Adesina, President of the African Development Bank

Photo: AfDB
The 2018 Babacar Ndiaye Trophy presented by the President of the African Development Bank, Akinwumi Adesina, to Jackson Kinyanjui, Director of the Kenyan Treasury, representing the Kenyan Head of State, Uhuru Kenyatta.
24 May 2018
Content from our Premium Partner
African Development Bank (Abidjan)

The Babacar Ndiaye Trophy for 2018 was presented on Wednesday evening in Busan, Korea, by the President of the African Development Bank, Akinwumi Adesina, to the representative of the Kenyan Head of State, Uhuru Kenyatta, who was distinguished for “his personal leadership and for the transformation of his country’s road network.”

short video retracing the life of Babacar Ndiaye (link is external) , 5 th  elected President of the African Development Bank (1985-1995), was shown just before President Adesina presented the distinguished award to Jackson Kinyanjui, Director of the Kenyan Treasury, representing President Uhuru.

According to the jury, the prize was also awarded in recognition of his efforts “to develop the railways and streamline air transport” and the progress achieved in street lighting in Kenya.

In the presence of Djibril Ndiaye, the son of the late Babacar Ndiaye and representative of the family, the ceremony began with a roundtable chaired by Carlos Lopes, former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Commission for Africa (ECA), on the theme “Transport and industrial transformation in Africa.”

Launched in 2016, the Babacar Ndiaye Trophy seeks to honour the best road and transport infrastructure initiatives in Africa. The Super Prize Great Builder –  Babacar Ndiaye Trophy honours a Head of State whose country’s road and transport policy is judged to be exemplary.

The prize was awarded in Busan, Korea, on the sidelines of the 2018 Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank. It was first time the award had been presented since the passing of Babacar Ndiaye in July 2017 in Dakar.

The prestigious honour was awarded jointly on the first occasion to King Mohamed VI of Morocco, the former Ethiopian Prime Minister, Hailemariam Desalegn; the former Gabonese President, Omar Bongo; the Zambian President, Edgar Lungu; and the Ivorian President, Alassane Ouattara.

The Rwandan President, Paul Kagame, and the Senegalese President, Macky Sall, were joint winners of the prize in 2017.

See also:  An emotional tribute in memory of former AfDB President Babacar Ndiaye (link is external)


AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.