Historic Treaty Marks the 'Real Beginning' for Telescope Array

After three-and-a-half years of negotiations, seven countries - South Africa, Australia, China, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal and the United Kingdom - have signed a treaty in Rome to establish the Square Kilometre Array Observatory and oversee the building and operation of the massive radio telescope project for the next 50 years.

Photo: SARAO

Some of the 64 radio antennas of the MeerKAT telescope in the Karoo, 90km outside Carnarvon.


See What Everyone is Watching

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.