Three Candidates Nominated For Seychelles October 2020 Election

Voters in Seychelles will get to choose among three presidential candidates in the October 2020 elections: Incumbent Danny Faure who represents the United Seychelles party, Wavel Ramkalawan from the Linyon Demokratik Seselwa (LDS) party and Alain St Ange from the One Seychelles party. The country's electoral commission has accepted the nominations of the three, while rejecting a fourth potential candidate, Patrick Pillay, a former speaker of the national assembly who is a member of the Lalyans Seselwa party, because he did not have the required support of 500 registered voters. During a ceremony at the commission, the draw for the order in which the candidate names will appear on the ballot paper, was done. Ramkalawan will appear first, followed by Faure and St Ange. Incumbent Faure is contesting the presidential election for the first time. He was the running mate of former president James Michel who handed over power to him in 2016, nearly one year into his mandate. Presidential and legislative elections in Seychelles, a group of 115 islands in the western Indian Ocean, will take place on October 22-24, 2020.

(file photo).

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.