13 March 2018

Africa: WhatsApp Tweaks its 'Delete for Everyone' Feature

Photo: Daily News
(file photo).

Cape Town — WhatsApp users will now be able to delete specific messages, sent to either a group or an individual chat, up to one hour, eight minutes and 16 seconds after sending them. The change is allegedly meant to curb messages accidentally sent to the wrong recipients or containing incorrect information.

According to a FAQ on the official WhatsApp website, messages successfuly deleted for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

To delete messages for everyone:

  • Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  • Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  • Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.


Speaker of Pan-African Parliament Backs Trade Deal

The Speaker of the Pan-African Parliament (PAP), Roger Nkodo Dang, yesterday described the proposed African Continental… Read more »

Copyright © 2018 allAfrica.com. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.