On the Eve of the Election, Ecowas Advocates for a Peaceful Election

27 February 2010
press release

Lome — «We are highly convinced that this election will be peaceful and transparent» stated Mr Babacar Ndiaye, Head of ECOWAS Observation Mission in this election.

During the various meetings held with Togolese politicians involved in the electoral process, Mr Ndiaye appealed to them not only to have as their priority peace and Togo, but also and more importantly respect Togolese texts and Togo's commitments at the international level.

He reiterated the need for leaders of all political parties to educate their militant groups on the need for tolerance and to work towards a free and transparent election. He invited them to respect the verdict of the ballot box, that is the choice expressed by voters and if the need arises follow legal channels to resolve any controversy.

During the press briefing held on Tuesday 2nd March 2010, the Head of the ECOWAS Observation Mission urged the people to vote in an atmosphere of quiet, order and peace. He enjoined voters to eschew violence, not to react to acts of provocations and let every of their actions and behaviours be indicative of peace. « Togo must deviate from the path of violent or controversial elections», he warned.

Mr Babacar Ndiaye seized the opportunity to recall the stakes involved in this election, namely strengthening and consolidating the national reconciliation and democratic process in Togo. He further appealed to the candidates, leaders of political parties and the press to take note of the high responsibility assigned to them, that is, ensuring the organisation of a violence free election. ]

To this end, they must avoid making inflammatory and provoking statements, concluded Mr Babacar Ndiaye.

The 2010 Togo presidential election will be held on Thursday 4 March 2010, however on Monday 1st March, the military and defence force have already voted in advance in accordance with the electoral law.

Seven (7) candidates are contesting in this single round of voting, namely: Mrs Brigitte Adjamagbo Johnson, Agbéyomé Kodjo, Me Yaovi Agboyibo, Jean-Pierre Fabre, Kagbara Bassabi, Nicolas Lawson and Faure Gnassingé, the outgoing President and candidate in his own succession process.


AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.