Cameroon: Three Regions Declared Economically Stricken Zones

Map of Cameroon showing north-west and south-west regions.
3 September 2019

The Prime Minister of Cameroon, Joseph Dion Ngute, has declared the north-west, south-west, and far-north regions of the country 'economically stricken zones', according to The aim is to put in place measures favorable for the establishment of businesses in these areas affected by insecurity. According to a decree, those who invest in these areas benefit from tax exemption for a period of three years.

The two English-speaking regions of north-west and south-west have been plunged into a secessionist crisis since 2017. As for the far-north, the terrorist group Boko Haram has been active there since 2014. According to figures published at the beginning of the year by the Inter regional Grouping of Cameroon (Gicam), the crisis in the English-speaking part of the country has led to the destruction of about twenty companies and the loss of more than 269 billion francs CFA (approximately U.S.$450 million).

More From: allAfrica

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.