U.S. Imposes Ban on Travellers from South Africa - Report

United States President Joe Biden has banned most non-U.S. citizens who have recently been in South Africa from entering the country, in a bid to contain the spread of a new variant of Covid-19. The Financial Times reports that Jen Psaki, the new White House press secretary, said on January 25, 2021 that Biden had "decided to maintain the restrictions previously in place for the European Schengen area, the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland and Brazil, with the pandemic worsening and more contagious variant contagious variants spreading". She added that "in light of the contagious variant", South Africa would also be added to the restriction list.


U.S. President Joe Biden (file photo).

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.