Covid-19 Jab Types Depend on Kenya's Storage Facilities

With five different types of Covid-19 vaccines available in the country, two of them will be dispatched to selected counties due to demanding storage requirements.

Pfizer and Moderna have to be kept at -70° Celsius or below, and -20° Celsius, respectively. Their distribution will, thus, be based on the availability of cold-chain storage facilities.

These are only available in Kitengela, Nairobi, Eldoret, Kisumu, Mombasa, Nakuru, Nyeri, Meru and Kakamega.

The two vaccines will only be distributed to areas that are within a maximum of seven hours from regional depots. Garissa County will also receive them when the shipment of a specialised deep freezer suitable for the climatic condition arrives, writes Nasibo Kabale for The Nation.

As of September 20, 2021 Kenya has recorded 246,530 Covid-19 cases with 237,295 recoveries and 4,989 fatalities.


AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.