U.S. Removes Nigeria From List of Religious Freedom Violators

The United States government has removed Nigeria from the list of countries blacklisted for "engaging in violation of religious freedom"on which they were placed in  2020, with six other countries for engaging in or for tolerating the severe violation of religious freedom.

Now the U.S. has placed Algeria and Comoros on its special watch list. It also designated Al-Shabaab, Boko Haram, Hayat Tahrir al-Sham, the Houthis, ISIS, ISIS-Greater Sahara, ISIS-West Africa, Jamaat Nasr al-Islam wal-Muslimin, and the Taliban as Entities of Particular Concern.

The U.S. removed Nigeria from the list, ahead of Secretary of State Antony Blinken's meeting with President Muhamadu Buhari, to discuss how both countries can further co-operate on global health, security, expanding energy access, and economic growth.

Nigeria is battling a range of security threats, including the long-running Boko Haram insurgency, inter-communal clashes, and more recently, a wave of mass abductions at schools by armed gangs.


(file photo).

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.