Nigeria, Rwanda First African Nations to Sign Space Treaty

Nigeria and Rwanda are the first African countries to join 23 other countries in signing the Artemis Accords in Washington DC.

The Artemis Accords, signed by Rwanda and Nigeria, are "a set of principles to guide the next phase in space exploration, reinforcing and providing for important operational implementation of key obligations in the 1967 Outer Space Treaty". 

The U.S.-Africa Space Forum reaffirmed the U.S. commitment to collaborating with African partners on the peaceful use and exploration of outer space to meet shared priorities on Earth.

It also seeks U.S.-Africa space partnership and cooperation for the possibilities and challenges of the 21st century. These include the global food, biodiversity, and climate crises, responsible space travel, and enhancing U.S.-Africa scientific and commercial space cooperation.

Nearly 50 African leaders and delegates are in Washington DC for the U.S.-Africa Leaders' Summit hosted by President Joe Biden.


(file photo).

Follow AllAfrica

AllAfrica publishes around 500 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.