Massive New Broadband Cable to Connect 16 African Nations

A 37,000-kilometre-long submarine broadband cable is to be built around Africa and the Middle East. The 16 African countries to be connected are Congo-Brazzaville, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, DRC, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Nigeria, Sudan, Senegal, Somalia (landing at Mogadishu), Tanzania and South Africa. 

2Africa will connect 16 countries in Africa with the Middle East and Europe.


Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.