Nigerian Govt Approves Reopening of Four Major Borders

The government has said that it will reopen four border crossing points immediately, more than a year after closing its land borders to curb the smuggling of rice and weapons. It said the ban was necessary, since the smuggling posed a threat to local production and security. The opened borders are Seme in the south-west, Ilela in the north-west, Maitagari in the north-west and Mfun in the south-south. Other border points will re-open at the end of December 2020. Items that will remain banned, include bagged cement, toothpicks, frozen poultry, among others.


Seme Border (file photo).

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.