Kiprop, Kipketer Outpace, Outrun to Win Nairobi Marathon

Elisha Kiprop fought off tough competition from Alphonce Kigen and Joshua Kogo to win the 2021 Stanchart Nairobi Marathon on October 31, 2021.

The 2018 winner Kiprop clocked 2:11:07 and he was joined on the podium four seconds later by Kigen, as Kogo crossed the finish line in 2:11:14.

Speaking after the race, Kiprop, who started his training in June, expressed his joy at winning the marathon again and stated that he is not in a hurry to move on to other races.

The women's 42km race was won by Valentine Kipketer in a time of 2:30:01. Naomi Maiyo finished second over two minutes later with a time of 2:32:22. Beatrice Cheptoo fought off a strong challenge from Rebecca Cheptegei of Uganda to finish third in 2:32:33. Cheptegei followed three seconds later.

In her post-race remarks, Valentine said that she registered for the marathon after missing the deadline for the Amsterdam marathon, writes Michael Kirwa for The Nation.

From left: Elisha Kiprop and Valentine Kipketer win the men's and women's 42km race.

AllAfrica publishes around 500 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.