23 September 2008

South Africa: 11 Cabinet Ministers Resign in Shock Move

Cape Town — One day after South Africa's ruling party leader and prospective president, Jacob Zuma, appealed to members of President Thabo Mbeki's cabinet to stay in their posts, more than one-third of Mbeki's ministers resigned.

Among the 11 resignations was that of Minister of Finance Trevor Manuel, whose weekend announcement that he was remaining in office bolstered international investor sentiment which had been nervous at the prospect of Mbeki stepping down.

Within minutes of the announcement of Manuel's resignation on Tuesday, the value of the South African rand and the all-share index on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE) dropped sharply. Markets recovered some of their losses when Manuel's office quickly said he would be willing to serve Mbeki's successor, and the episode will place the incoming president, Kgalema Motlanthe, under strong pressure to re-appoint Manuel.

Among other resignations was that of Deputy President Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, who was widely expected to go as a result of the role her husband, Bulelani Ngcuka, played in probing allegations of corruption against Zuma.

The next most senior minister to resign was the Minister of Defence, Mosiuoa Lekota, who was vilified by Zuma supporters when, during the build-up to Zuma's election as party leader last year, he condemned the mobilization of support for Zuma on the basis of his Zulu ethnicity.

The resignations will force Motlanthe to reconstitute the cabinet seven months before the expected date of South Africa's next election. Motlanthe, deputy leader of the African National Congress, was nominated by the party to replace Mbeki until Zuma assumes office after the election. He is expected to be elected president by parliament on Thursday.

Other ministers who have resigned are the Minister in the Presidency, Essop Pahad, intelligence minister Ronnie Kasrils, prisons minister Ngconde Balfour, public enterprises minister Alec Erwin, science minister Mosibudi Mangena (who is from a minority party), public works minister Thoko Didiza, provincial and local government minister (and Zimbabwe power-sharing talks facilitator) Sydney Mufamadi, and public service minister Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi. Three deputy ministers also resigned: Aziz Pahad (foreign affairs), Jabu Moleketi (finance) and Loretta Jacobus (prisons).

Mbeki's office said in its statement that all the ministers "have expressed their availability to assist the incoming administration in the hand-over process and any other assistance that might be sought from them." Motlanthe, however, will be under strong pressure from within the party not to re-appoint those perceived to be close to Mbeki.

South Africa

Johannesburg Metro Police Warn of Possible Strike By Taxi Drivers

Johannesburg Metro Police have warned of a possible strike by Alexandra taxi operators on Monday after about 500 taxis… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2008 allAfrica.com. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.