Seven to Compete for Cape Verde's Top Job

Cape Verde's Constitutional Court has said in a statement that it has approved seven candidates for the October 17, 2021 presidential elections, and that Péricles Tavares was the only candidate rejected due to some irregularities.

Cape Verde has had four presidents since independence. The leaders were the late Aristides Pereira (1975-1991), the late António Mascarenhas Monteiro (1991-2001), the first by direct election, Pedro Pires (2001-2011) and Jorge Carlos Fonseca (2011 to present).

Incumbent Jorge Carlos Fonseca, 70, who has ruled the country since 2011, served the maximum two terms and cannot run in the polls.


The coastline of Praia, capital of Cape Verde (file photo).

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.