African Artists Shine as South Africa, Nigeria Win Grammy Awards

South African artists Nomcebo Zikode, Zakes Bantwini, and Wouter Kellerman scored a win for their hit song Bayethe while Nigerian singer Tems won the award in the Best Melodic Rap Performance category for her contribution to the hit song Wait for U - a collaboration with musicians Future and Drake. 

The three SA artists won over Nigeria's Burna Boy, Uganda's Eddy Kenzo, USA's Matt B, Ghana's Rocky Dawuni, and Pakistan's Arooj Aftab in the Best Global Music Performance category at the Grammy Awards.

This is the first time Zikode and Bantwini win a Grammy. This is Kellerman's fourth nomination and his second Grammy. Their win follows hot on the heels of last year's Grammy win by DJ Black Coffee in the Best Dance Electronic Category, reports SABC.

Tems's win makes her the first female artist from Nigeria to win the prestigious award.


South Africa's trio Zakes Bantwini, Wouter Kellerman, and Nomcebo Zikode scoop Best Performance in the Global Music category.

Follow AllAfrica

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.